Trying to learn new things can be scary. I’ve never been very good at it. I hate the idea of not being able to do something perfect right away. Unfortunately, that way of thinking leads to never doing anything, and that’s not any fun. 

I’m still not very good at trying new things in front of people, but I have started to try out some new hobbies and games by myself. Most recently, I have been working on learning to crochet.

I’ve always wanted to learn to crochet, and be good at it, because my grandma used to crochet. I have a few afghans she made. I’ve tried to learn off and on over the years. It seems like my fingers always get tangled, and then I give up in exasperation. This time around I seem to have it. Well, enough that I’m not giving up anyway. 

I made this rat bed for my neice, N.J., for Christmas. 

Self confidence, brave, new things

And I made this blanket for C’s kitten, Leo.

Blanket

This is my attempt at a pot holder. It works at least. πŸ˜‰

Finally, I decided to try to make a mug cozi.

OMG. Yeah. Those are supposed to be straight edges. I really need to work on that. πŸ˜„ It still needs a button so it can be fastened onto the mug.

The important thing is that I really enjoyed doing it and I’m having fun trying new patterns. I’ll keep writing about my successes and failures here, so you all can share the experience with me. 

Do you have anything you have been wanting to do, but have been scared to try? Let me know in the comments below or on TwitterInstagram, or my Facebook page.
Ed

