For a long time I did not. I didn’t have the money for one thing. It felt extravagant to spend $10 on myself every month. Also, I’m not much of a makeup person.

Then my husband convinced me we could spare the $10, and I decided I’d like to play around with makeup some, so I looked into just what Ipsy is.

From the Ipsy site:

“Each month, subscribers will receive a beautiful Glam Bag with deluxe samples and full-sized beauty products. Members can watch and play along with the stylists with the same products that they are using. All for only $10 a month.”

I’ve had so much fun with Ipsy over the past year. It’s a form of self care for me. Beyond the makeup and skin and hair products, the bags are so freaking cute, and usable for an assortment of things. Here are a few of my favorites.

Revie
A few of my favorite Glam Bags from Ipsy

This is what I got this month. So excited!

Review
Glam Bag From January 2017


Slanted Tweezers from The Vintage Cosmetic Company

Review
Slanted Tweezers from The Vintage Cosmetic Company


I love the tweezers. First off, they are gorgeous. Beautiful rose gold color. More importantly, they work well. I tend to have a problem with tweezers either not working or breaking off hair rather than plucking it. These do neither. I was easily able to isolate each hair and pluck it. 5 out of 5

Coffee + Coconut Lip Scrub from Jelly Pong Pong

Review
Lip Scrub from Jelly Pong Pong


I am not a fan of this lip scrub. I love lip scrubs, but this one didn’t do it’s job as a scrub. My lips were left feeling moisturized, but none of the dry skin was scrubbed off. I used my other lip scrub afterward and there was a big difference. My other issue was with the coconut flavor/scent. This scrub smells delicious. You can’t really pick up the coffee scent until you apply it, but the coconut scent is yummy. After I applied it though, I could taste the coconut down my throat and it tasted of sunscreen. Not yummy. I won’t be using this product again. 1 out of 5

Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream with SPF 35

Review
Smashbox Camera Ready BB Cream with SPF 35


I ended up trying this twice. The first time I loved how it performed. It goes on very easily, and feels fantastic on my skin. It is very light. It also is easy to smooth out and doesn’t ball up. I loved how it smoothed out my skin. It is just too dark for me even though they sent me the “light” shade. I read a bit more about it and decided to give it one more shot by using it as a primer. This time I really liked it. It works well as a thin layer underneath my regular foundation. I don’t know if I’ll buy it, but this sample will get used up. 4 out of 5 

Star Crushed Minerals Metallic Eyeshadow in Aged to Perfection Champagne 

Review
Star Crushed Minerals Eyeshadow
Review
Start Crushed Minerals Eyeshadow

This is a loose powder instead of a little cake, and so gets everywhere. Not being very schooled in makeup I wasn’t too sure what to do with it, so first I just put it on like regular eyeshadow. I really like it. It is a nice amount of sparkle/glimmer/shine. Reading more about it, you can also put some on a tissue, dampen your brush, and then apply it as a liner or shadow. Using it this way, it gives a more foil look.  I just used it alone and another time over another color. I’m very fond of the glimmer it adds. I’ll use this one a lot. 5 out of 5 
Cianté London Gelology Top Coat 

Review
Cianté London Gelology Top Coat

I put No Filter from Trust Fund Beauty on both hands, two coats, and the top coat on one hand but not the other. No complaints about the application. It went on very smoothly. It dried nicely also. Typically, my nail polish alone lasts two days. I’m thrilled if I make it through the first day with no chipping. At the end of two days I had zero chipping on the hand with this top coat. My other hand , polish only, had the start of wear showing at the edges.  Two more day later, four days after I polished, my hand with the top coat still showed no sign of wear. I’m thrilled! I’ll be using this top coat for sure. 5 out of 5

Review
Left hand with nail polish and top coat.


Review
Right hand with nail polish only.

The pics above show the slight difference in glossiness with the top coat.

 

So, that’s all for this Glam Bag from Ipsy. What did you think? Do you have any experience with these products? Tips for me? Would you like to see this type of post again? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

